Stankowski Stiftung

 

Anton Stankowski
News
Ideas + Targets

Award + Winners
Members
Contact

Shop
Bookmarks
Deutsche Version

Life
Oeuvre


Graphic Art
Painting
Poster
Sculptures + Reliefs
Graphic Design
Photography


Exhibitions
Books



Graphic Design

 

Commercial Artwork and Visual Communication
In 1927/28, at the age of 21, Anton Stankowski starts to create factual-functional montages of typography and photography in constructive arrangements for advertising purposes. Right from the beginning, he makes use of the points of view of photography which were new at the time, and he belongs to the pioneers of “new seeing”. In his designs for packages, leaflets and advertisements for the grocery chain “Hill”, in 1929, he brings in Akzidenz-Grotesque as a standard type, thus decisively contributing to the successful rediscovery of this factual printing letter type.

At the same time, he makes innovative designs for the office furniture manufacturer “Fortschritt”, e.g. letterpaper anticipating the employ of white spaces taken up in commercial art work after World War II.

At the end of 1929, Stankowski starts to work for the advertising agency of Max Dalang in Zurich, where he becomes the actual stimulator and first practitioner of the factual Swiss commodity design. The serial and precisely calculated shapes developed by Stankowski in Zurich until 1934 for advertising and informational purposes also influence constructive and concrete art, which whose protagonists in Zurich, Richard Paul Lohse and Max Bill, Stankowski has manifold connections. He remains an uncompromising factual and modern designer after his return to Germany in 1934 employing, for example, photograms in the design of pod packages in 1938.

In his postwar works, Stankowski expands functional design into visual communication. Numerous word and picture marks are developed in the greater context of corporate identities. In the middle of the fifties, the graphic artist Anton Stankowski becomes a studio director, his large order book requires an increase of manpower. However, it is not a boost in quantity which Stankowski intends, but in quality: consequently his “Viessmann” word mark in 1965 starts the first corporate design project for capital goods, which will determine the whole field in an international context. With an equally great influence on worldwide graphic communication follows the development of the Berlin layout (presented in 1968) as a complex system of public graphic design.

In 1972, Karl Duschek joins the studio as a staff member, at first. In him Stankowski finds the ideal partner for large tasks, such as the development of the corporate identity of the Deutsche Bank, which Duschek outlines according to Stankowski’s signet draft in 1974 and realizes in the studio. This mark has an exemplary effect for the financial service segment and has found numerous imitators worldwide.

Jörg Stürzebecher

 

Sulzer, Prospektumschlag
1933

 


Schutzmarke, 1954
Süddeutscher Rundfunk

 

Logo Deutsche Bank
1974

 

The publication of the works by Anton Stankowski is only allowed with permission of the Stankowski-Foundation © Stankowski-Stiftung

Stankowski-Stiftung

 

Anton Stankowski
Aktuelles
Ideen und Ziele

Preis und Preisträger
Mitglieder
Kontakt

Shop
Links
English Version

Leben
Werk


Grafik
Gemälde
Plakate
Plastiken + Reliefs
Funktionelle
Gebrauchsgrafik
und visuelle
Kommunikation

Fotografie

Ausstellungen
Bücher


Funktionelle Gebrauchsgrafik und visuelle Kommunikation


Mit 21 Jahren beginnt Anton Stankowski 1927/28, sachlich-funktionale Montagen von Typografie und Fotografie in konstruktiver Anordnung für Werbezwecke zu gestalten. Von Anfang an nutzt er die damals neuen Sichtweisen der Fotografie und gehört hier zu den Pionieren des „neuen Sehens” Bei der Gestaltung von Warenverpackungen, Werbeblättern und Inseraten für die Lebensmittel-Handelskette „Hill”. 1929 setzt er erstmals die Akzident Grotesk als Standardschrift ein und trägt damit entscheidend zum bis heute erfolgreichen Wiedereinsatz dieser sachlichen Schrift-Type bei.

Parallel entstehen für den Büromöbelhersteller „Fortschritt” innovative Gestaltungen, darunter Briefbögen mit asymetrischer Foto-Typo-Montage, die den Weißraum-Einsatz der Gebrauchsgrafik nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg vorwegnehmen. Ende 1929 beginnt Stankowski bei der Zürcher Werbeagentur Max Dalang und wird dort zum eigentlichen Anreger und ersten Praktiker der sachlichen Schweizer Gebrauchsgütergrafik. Die seriellen und exakt berechneten Formen, die Stankowski in Zürich bis 1934 für Werbe- und Informationsaufgaben entwickelt, beeinflussen darüber hinaus die konstruktive und konkrete Kunst, mit deren Zürcher Protagonisten Richard Paul Lohse und Max Bill Stankowski vielfältig verbunden ist. Ein kompromisslos sachlich-moderner Gestalter bleibt Stankowski auch nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland 1934, wenn er etwa für die Gestaltung von Hülsenfruchtverpackungen 1938 Fotogramme einsetzt.

In seinen Nachkriegsarbeiten erweitert Stankowski die sachliche Gebrauchsgrafik zur visuellen Kommunikation. Zahlreiche Wort- und Bildmarken entstehen im größeren Kontext von Firmengesichtern. Mitte der fünfziger Jahre wird aus dem Autorengrafiker der Atelierleiter Stankowski, die umfangreichen Aufträge erfordern einen Zuwachs an Mitarbeitern. Doch nicht quantitative, sondern qualitative Steigerung ist Stankowskis Anliegen: So beginnt 1965 mit der „Viessmann”-Wortmarke eine erste Corporate-Design Gestaltung für Investitionsgüter, die im internationalen Kontext gattungsprägend wird. Mit ebensolchem Einfluss auf die weltweite grafische Kommunikation folgt die Entwicklung des Berlin-Layouts (vorgestellt 1968) als komplexem System öffentlicher Grafik.

1972 kommt Karl Duschek zunächst als Mitarbeiter in das Atelier. In ihm findet Stankowski den Idealpartner für große Aufgaben wie die Entwicklung des Erscheinungsbildes der Deutschen Bank, das Duschek nach Stankowskis Signetentwurf 1974 konzipiert und im Atelier realisiert. Dieses Erscheinungsbild wirkt vorbildlich für den Finanzdienstleistungsbereich und findet weltweit zahlreiche Nachahmer.

Jörg Stürzebecher

 

Logo
Deutsche Bank
1974

 

Der Abdruck/Wiedergabe der Abbildungen und Texte ist nur mit Genehmigung der Stankowski-Stiftung möglich.
© Stankowski-Stiftung

 

Sulzer,
Prospektumschlag
1933

 

Schutzmarke,
Süddeutscher Rundfunk
1954