Stankowski Stiftung

 

Anton Stankowski
News
Ideas + Targets

Award + Winners
Members
Contact

Shop
Bookmarks
Deutsche Version

Life
Oeuvre


Graphic Art
Painting
Poster
Sculptures + Reliefs
Graphic Design
Photography


Exhibitions
Books



Photography

 

Stankowksi’s photos tell us the story of objects. They narrate them in the esthetic of the "caught eye" in haptic close view, in their material qualities "ready to grab", in standardized repetition as the equivalent to the act of manufacture, in didactic mediation of their way from the production to the consumer, in the transparence of working cycles and calculation.

The world of the objects appears in these pictures, according to the set task, in fine graduations of grey shades and surface texture, light and shadow contrasts, unusual, striking details, views from above or beneath, extreme perspectives, distortions or the sharp rendition of isolated details.

Stankowski created mouvement studies which revolutionized motorcar publicity; he worked with double exposures, mirrors, with montages and the photogram. The "immense collection of goods"in the industrial world was given a contemporary face with him.

Guido Magnaguagno

 

Erbsenschote, Fotogramm
1928

 

Zeitprotokoll im Auto
Zürich, 1929

 

 

The publication of the works by Anton Stankowski is only allowed with permission of the Stankowski-Foundation
© Stankowski-Stiftung

Stankowski-Stiftung

 

Anton Stankowski
Aktuelles
Ideen und Ziele

Preis und Preisträger
Mitglieder
Kontakt

Shop
Links
English Version

Leben
Werk


Grafik
Gemälde
Plakate
Plastiken + Reliefs
Funktionelle
Gebrauchsgrafik
und visuelle
Kommunikation
Fotografie

Ausstellungen
Bücher



Die Fotografie

Stankowskis Fotos erzählen die Geschichte von Gegenständen. Sie erzählen sie in der Ästhetik des „gefesselten Blicks” in haptischer Nahsicht, in ihren Materialqualitäten „zum Zugreifen bereit” in standardisierter Wiederholung als Äquivalent des Produktionsvorgangs, in didaktischer Vermittlung ihres Weges von der Fabrikation zum Verbraucher, in der Transparenz der Arbeitsgänge und der Kalkulation.

Die Welt der Dinge erscheint in diesen Bildern
je nach Aufgabe in feinen Abstufungen von Grauwirkungen und Oberflächentextur, Licht- und Schattenkontrasten, ungewöhnlichen, frappierenden Ausschnitten, Auf- und Untersicht, in extremen Perspektiven, Verzerrungen oder der scharfen Wiedergabe isolierter Details.

Stankowski gelangen Bewegungsstudien, welche die Autowerbung revolutionierten; er arbeitete mit Doppelbelichtungen, Spiegeln, mit Montagen und dem Fotogramm. Die „ungeheure Warensammlung” der industriellen Welt bekam mit ihm ihr zeitgenössisches Gesicht.

Guido Magnaguagno

 

Erbsenschote,
Fotogramm
1928

 

Der Abdruck/Wiedergabe der Abbildungen und Texte ist nur mit Genehmigung der Stankowski-Stiftung möglich.
© Stankowski-Stiftung

 

 

Zeitprotokoll im Auto
Zürich, 1929